Leaving My Comfort Zone and a Recipe

Hello friends.

This week has felt like a whirlwind. I’ve felt pulled in different directions and it’s made me feel distracted which isn’t something I like to be. I went on a run yesterday, and I was trying to focus myself, sort through my thoughts, and spend some time in reflection but I just couldn’t. I think between work, and blogging, and the farm, and life stuff it’s just felt like a lot. Starting a blog is so awesome, and I can’t wait to get to know all the wonderful bloggers and readers out there but man is it tiring.

What I’m trying to say is that I’m feeling pushed out of my comfort zone.

But that’s a good thing! I easily become complacent. I don’t want to feel uncomfortable. I don’t want to feel stretched. But…you have to be stretched to grow, and I do want to grow.

With that in mind, let’s get to the recipe I promised! Yesterday, I said some peach recipes might my heading your way, sooo you guessed it, it’s a peach recipe! *insert confetti drop*

But it’s not just any peach recipe, it’s a crumble. And it’s vegan. And it’s gluten free. And it’s pretty darn good too 😉

IMG_0582

Peaches scream summertime. Their sweet smell, soft fuzz, and tangy sweetness, ahh so wonderful. This crumble embodies summer. Too big a claim, you say. Make it, I say. Try it, I say. Let me prove you wrong.

IMG_0584

Peach Crumble (Vegan, GF)

Servings: 8-12

Crumble:

2 cups oats(GF certified if that’s your thing)

1/2 cup almond flour

1/4 cup coconut sugar

2 T flaxseed

Generous sprinkle of cinnamon

Pinch of salt

1/2 cup of pecans(optional)

1/4 cup solid coconut oil

Filling:

15-18 peaches(pealed and sliced into sections)

2-3 T of coconut flour

Sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions:      

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. For the crumble, mix all the ingredients, up to the solid coconut oil, in a large bowl. When everything is thoroughly mixed, add in the coconut oil, and combine until little clumps of oats begin to form and the oil is well distributed.

3. In a another bowl, gently mix the coconut flour and cinnamon into the sliced and pealed peaches. Coconut flour is SUPER absorbent. It soaks up all the extra moisture so the crumble isn’t too soupy.

3. Transfer the peaches into large glass dish. (I used a deep oval dish for mine, but I imagine a standard 9×13 pan would work as well.) Evenly distribute the crumble on top of the peaches.

4. Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, and then cover the pan with foil and bake for another 30 minutes or until bubbly and hot.

20160721_195741
Warm crumble with coconut ice cream.

 

Let me know if you try it! Post a pic to Instagram and tag nutrition.on.a.mission!

Bye loves ❤

 

Leave a Reply

