WIAW #2: Heat Warnings, Eats, and All You Need is Love

Happy Wednesday, Happy Hump Day, Happy Summer!

Hopefully all of you lovelies have been staying cool. We’ve been having hot weather lately and very little rain, so I’m praying for a good soak to relieve the farmers and our thirsty garden. We actually have an excessive heat warning today!?! because the real feel is 110, yikes 😮

2016-07-25 13.13.03 (1).png

 

I know y’all are here for WIAW, you nosey people you. Just kidding I love stalking other people’s eats too. So, today I’m sharing my eats, in the usual WIAW fashion, but I also wanted to share a topic that’s been on my heart…comparison.

2016-07-25 13.15.55
breakfast at a friend’s house. plain instant oatmeal// justin’s classic almond butter// banana// strawberries

It’s so easy to look at another person and compare their abilities/talents/knowledge/success to your own, but it’s so pointless. Essentially when you compare yourself, you’re forgetting that you are individual and unique. There is no other person on the planet, over 7 billion people mind you, that is exactly like you. That is incredible.

20160725_123733
big salad with spinach// half a sweet potato// two of these veggie burgers// 2 hard boiled eggs

Let me back track a little. I’m not saying that we should never look at another person and recognize their differences or be inspired by their accomplishments, maybe even driven to do what they did, but when we let that comparison make us feel inadequate or unsuccessful, that’s where it becomes an issue.

I think social media plays a huge role in this. Our feeds are loaded with perfect pictures of seemingly perfect people, and honestly, it makes us feel like our lives should more perfect. Sometimes a break from instagram or facebook can be very healthy in bringing us back to reality. Also, just remembering that every “perfect” picture has a story.

20160725_154651
random vegan mug cake I whipped up for a snack// almond butter// banana

The other thing that comparison can bring is what I guess would be called malicious justification. I just kinda made that up, but basically bringing another person down because you feel insecure.

“Well she’s really pretty, but she’s probably super vain and shallow.” “He’s getting into Princeton, but I’m sure he’s a rich, stuck-up snob.” “She started her own business, but I bet she never has time for her family.” This just leads to more bitterness and hatefulness inside you, towards yourself and others around you.

20160725_201344
zoodles// broccoli// mushrooms// peppers// homemade pasta sauce// nooch

You know the Beatles song, Love is All You Need? Well, if you don’t or haven’t heard it for awhile, give it a listen. That’s my answer to comparison. Love yourself. Love others. Appreciate the light that everyone brings. And I get it, it seems like such an easy answer, but it’s not. It’s really difficult.

20160725_203355
two bowls of watermelon

But I do believe that it can be learned and cultivated over time. It’s hard for me to write this because you better bet I struggle with comparison. Academically, I have to find my boundaries and realize that no, I can’t take a billion AP classes, and do sports, and play an instrument, and volunteer, and work, and be involved in 40 different clubs. Maybe other people can, but if I tried, I would wear myself out. And that’s okay. Physically, being a size 0 isn’t healthy for me. Again some people are naturally that small, and that’s okay. Mentally, I know I need time to decompress every night and be reflective. Some people don’t need that, and that’s okay. I also know that I need to stay busy and try new things or I get lazy and stagnant. Other people might not need that, and that’s okay. 

20160725_205318
warm quinoa milk w/ cinnamon// a few squares of dark chocolate(unpictured)

Embrace our differences. Celebrate our individuality. LOVE each other. Truthfully, we’re all just trying to find our way in this world, why adulterate the journey with comparison.

Linking up with The Big Man’s WorldPeas and Crayons, and Sprint 2 the Table. Thank you all for this awesome link up 🙂

Bye loves ❤


 

No questions today, just thoughts 🙂 

 

 

7 thoughts on “WIAW #2: Heat Warnings, Eats, and All You Need is Love

  1. I LOVE this. Comparison is not the answer. I’ve been listening to these sermons from Romans 12 on the different spiritual gifts in the body and how God hasn’t given us all the same gifts in the body of Christ and how we can complement each other. Outside of the body of Christ, it’s also amazing that God has created 7 billion+ people in the world that are ALL different. I think it shows God’s love for variety. It’s beautiful. ❤

    Like

  2. It’s definitely so hard not to compare yourself to others, it’s definitely something many of us are aware of and always trying to work on. All your eats look delicious! I love zoodles and haven’t had them in awhile.

    Like

    1. It is very difficult stop comparing and just embrace acceptance of yourself and others. I know it’s a struggle for me. But yes, it is something that can be worked on and learned, which is awesome!!!

      Thank you so much for stopping by ❤

      Like

  3. I completely agree with you. I sometimes downplay my own successes because they are not as good as others or something. That’s silly, God made us all perfect in Him. We are all the best at being ourselves and that’s the most important thing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

