Foodie Friday: Zucchini Bread Blender Waffles

It’s Friday!

As we speak, I’m on my way to Pittsburgh for a college visit! I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures for you, especially of the yummy Mexican food place I talked about yesterday. Aren’t weekend trips so fun? I guess they’re less of a vacation and more of an adventure/ sightseeing trip, but I really don’t mind that. It’s still a blessing just to have a break from your routine and see new sights!

It’s pretty awesome to live where I do because I get to enjoy all the perks of the country, while still being 2-4 hours from major cities. Anyone else live in an area like that?

Transitioning to the topic of the post, I have a really delicious waffle recipe for you! Also, since I’ve been posting a recipe every Friday, I thought I would give my Friday posts a name. *drum roll please* Foodie Friday! It’s named. It’s yummy. It’s official.

20160727_065716
pre-toppings

Today, I’m sharing my go to waffle recipe. It’s super nutritious, filling, and actually very versatile because you can add whatever flavoring or fruit your heart desires. Blueberries, chocolate chips, banana, you name it. For my recipe, I used zucchini. I love using veggies in my breakfast recipes because I’m not always home and able to make elaborate, vegetable filled meals, but I am, almost always home for breakfast. Plus, it feels great to finish your first meal of the day and know you’re well on your way for reaching your veggie goals for the day.

20160727_070413
post-toppings

Also, this recipe is free of gluten, dairy, and nuts! The lovely Emily shared an awesome post about allergies on Wednesday, and it was such a good reminder to be considerate of those who can’t eat certain foods. I care about you guys and want to make sure you can try my recipe creations! Don’t worry, Foodie Fridays will include lots of allergy friendly eats so everyone can enjoy them 🙂

2016-07-28 16.57.19

 

Zucchini Bread Blender Waffles (GF, Dairy-free, Nut-free)

Servings: 1                     Time: 15 minutes

-1/2 cup rolled oats* (certified GF)

-1/2 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk*

-1 T Chia seeds

-2 egg whites

-1/4 cup zucchini*

Directions:

  1. Plug in waffle maker!
  2. Place all ingredients in your blender cup, and blend until the batter is smooth
  3. Grease the waffle maker with oil and make your waffles!

Notes:

  1. If you don’t have a blender, you can still make these! Just used oat flour instead of whole rolled oats, and used grated zucchini instead of chopped zucchini.
  2. Then just mix everything together really well and make your waffles.

20160727_070428

It’s that easy. I make these all the time for breakfast. The the recipe is so simple, I’ve memorized by now, and they are super yummy. It can be hard to find a healthy waffle recipe with that perfect golden hue and pillowy texture, but these waffles won’t disappoint.

If you make these, Instagram them and tag @nutrition.on.a.mission.blog. That would make my heart so happy.

Bye loves ❤


So tell me…

What’s your take on weekend trips, yay or nay.

What’s your go to breakfast recipe? Bonus points if it involves nut butter. 

4 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Zucchini Bread Blender Waffles

    1. Your post really convicted me. After I read it, I just had to stop and think, “wow Vang, you can be really judgemental!” That’s not how Christ wants me to be, so I appreciated it a lot.

      Have a lovely weekend Emily 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

