Thinking Out Loud: Top 7 Things That Sabotage Wellness

Good morning! The weekend is quickly approaching, and I hope you all have some fun things planned. I don’t work at all this weekend, (hallelujah!!!) so I’m planning on baking ALL the things, doing a long run, and maybe even hiking.

Today is Thursday! Thank you Amanda for letting me Think Out Loud.

Warning (I guess?): This is a long, picture-less post, so if you’re not feeling a long read, you can skip it. I won’t be offended 🙂 

Thinking-Out-Loud

I’ve only been living on this lovely earth for 16 years, so I know I still have A LOT to learn. However, I also have had my fair share of experiences that have taught me and helped me grow. Today, I wanted to compile a list of things that, in my experience, sabotage mental and physical wellness. Please note that A) I’m not an expert and B) this is purely my opinion. As I always say, everyone is beautifully unique, you need to live your life and care for your body in a way that suits you. 

1. Comparison: I wrote a whole post about this last week, but I’ll summarize it for you. Comparing yourself to other people is futile because every person is unique. We all have our own strengths and weaknesses. That. Is. Okay. Actually, it’s pretty darn awesome. I think comparison affects mental wellness most because it can really mess with your head. I know for me, when I compare myself to other people, it makes me really bitter and often jealous. Who wants to live their whole life feeling that way?

2. Guilt: Don’t look back and agonize about the past. We make mistakes, bad choices, and sometimes life just throws us a curve ball, but we can’t move on and grow if we are constantly hung up on past events. Forgive yourself and put it out of your mind. “Only look back to see how far you’ve come.” <- Whoever came up with that quote is very wise.

3. Worry: Enjoy your journey! It’s a long one and certainly not easy, but worry literally does NOTHING. One of my favorite verses is found in Luke 12:25, “who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life.” Guess what, I know the answer…not me. It’s a bummer though because my life would exponentially longer by now if I could 😉

4. Unclear Intentions: Make attainable goals. If you want to gain strength physically, make a measurable goal to do x# of push ups by the end of the month. If you want to focus on building stronger relationships, go out of your way to spend more time with someone who uplifts you. If you want to eat more healthfully, try to get a few servings of veggies and fruits every day. Extreme or “fuzzy” goals are rarely reached because A) we give up or B) we don’t get it done.

5. Vanity: This is a huge detriment for physical wellness. When I first started exercising, it was for vanity, and it was super unhealthy, not to mention frustrating. Being self-conscious and vain about my body didn’t make me feel, or look, any better; it made me feel worse. Not using/owning a scale can be helpful if this is a struggle for you. Weight and measurements are just numbers, they only gain control when we let them. What helped me was finding activities that exercised my body and made me happy. I love being outside, so trail running, outdoor yoga, hiking, gardening, are my favorite ways to move. If you love music, maybe zumba or a dance class would be a good way to get your heart pumping. I only have one body, you only have one body, and we both have a lifetime to spend with it. Let’s get to lovin’ it! (Sounds like a jingle for McDonalds, yikes)

6. Unhealthy Relationships: I am really fortunate to have minimal experience with this topic, but I know many, many people have to deal with this daily in their families or with friends. All I can say is be reflective, think about how you feel when your with this person or group of people. Are they kind, uplifting, supportive, gentle, honest, caring? If the answer is no, what steps should you take?

7. Perfectionism: This one stings because I know I’m a perfectionist. Everything I do, I want it to be done perfectly, with no problems, and quickly. Sadly, that’s not how life works, and I end up beating myself up about it. Another verse that reminds me to slow down and not obsess about perfection is in Psalms 46:10. “Be still and know that I am God.” I can’t do it all. I can’t live perfectly. I can’t control everything. I need to remember, daily, to let go and slow down. It’s incredibly freeing to allow yourself to be imperfect. Of course we already are, so why not embrace it and learn to live with it?

That’s a wrap! You made it to the end! Thanks for sticking with me 🙂 I hope that didn’t come across as preachy. I specifically wrote about each one of these things because they are all current struggles. I may be aware of them, which is a good place to start, but I’m still working on them. Thanks for letting me share my thoughts 🙂

Bye loves ❤


So tell me…

What would you add to the list?

Any specific ones you related to?

Plans for the weekend?

 

7 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Top 7 Things That Sabotage Wellness

  1. I can 100% agree with allll of these things! Comparrison is definitely #1 though. For some reason I think its just our human reaction to compare ourselves to others and try to “measure” up, which is just ridiculous!

    Like

    1. Comparison is a toughy. That’s definitely one that is a big struggle for me too. And yes! It’s so ridiculous we feel the need to “measure” up. I love that everyone has unique talents, but I just need to remind myself of that instead feeling jealous or unhappy…which is not always easy 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m not sure I would add to the list. This seems to cover so many of the things I struggle with as a feeble human, and I’m so grateful for other sisters in Christ reminding me of God’s sovereignty and God’s goodness. He made my body just like He wanted it to be here. It’s still affected by the infirmity of sin, but some day He promises a new one, where I can worship Him perfectly. This life is just a journey… 🙂 Vanity was HUGE for me, and the best thing was to stay out of the mirror and off the scale as much as possible, because neither was very helpful for me. They kept my eyes on my outward appearance, and they often were stumbling blocks to me actually thinking about the state of my mind and heart.

    Like

    1. So true Emily. What a blessing to remember that Christ will perfect our broken bodies and minds. It’s something that gives me so much hope, especially on days when I struggle with the hardships of this life.

      Like

    1. Ahh yes. Great addition. I love that there are so many uplifting men and women in the blogging community. This blog has really opened me up to that. Some days, I pour my heart into a blog post, and it feels so wonderful to have fellow bloggers come along side me and remind me that they struggle/experience similar things. You all are absolute blessings ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

