Thinking Out Loud: Thai Food, Bugs, AT Hiking

Hola amigas y amigos.

I’m trying to prepare for Spanish 5…pretty good so far, right? Can you sense my sarcasm? I worry that all my years of Spanish have left me, but I’m sure once I am immersed in the curriculum again, I’ll be fine.

Today is not the day for school worries though (although I guess it could be) because it’s Friday Eve which means we get to think out loud. Thanks Amanda for hosting this awesome link up.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Who can find the typo? If I was their editor, that would not be in there. I’m a grammar/editing NERD. #noshame20160810_103254 (1)

2. This was sad for two reasons. First, the waffles I made were so mangled I gave up trying to save them, so I had to make myself another breakfast that wasn’t waffles.

20160810_082605

Second, I had to clean this.

20160810_082549
You made a face didn’t you. It’s gross I know.

3. Have you ever put marinated artichokes on your salad? It’s so good! I was tired of my same old toppings, so I switched it up. If you haven’t tried, you need to.

20160810_134230

4. I found an assassin bug on my door. I really love bugs, minus spiders and stinging insects, so this was such an awesome find. He wasn’t so sure about me getting in his space to take pictures…

20160809_181658

5. My sisters and I were planning on going to this Vietnamese noodle restaurant on Tuesday night, but when we got there, they were closed for a family vacation. How awesome is that! We weren’t even mad because we loved the idea of the family taking a break to spend time together. Instead, we checked out this little Thai restaurant that was so good. Everything was fresh and really flavorful.

20160809_193601
blurry pic because I couldn’t wait to dig in

6.  I found this buzzfeed video called People Try the 20 Second Hug Challenge and it made my heart happy. I love big, tight, squeezy hugs. Virtual hugs for all of you, but if you were sitting with me right now, I would make you get up and give me a real hug. Excuse me while I go find someone to hug.

7. Okay I’m back. I can’t remember if I’ve shared this before or not, but eventually, next summer or the next, I want to do a section hike of the AT. I would love to do the whole thing, but I’m too busy to seriously consider that at this point. Maybe after college. Anyway, I found an article reflecting on what happens to your body when you hike the entire AT. Truthfully, it’s pretty long read, so I haven’t read the whole thing yet. The parts I did read were very eye opening though.

8. Farmer’s market finds ❤ Not really a thought per se, but I guess I’m thinking about all the ways I can use these ingredients.

20160810_173217

I’ll stop there. Eight is a nice even number. I hope you all have something awesome to look forward to this weekend. A friend invited me to go on a hike tomorrow, which should be awesome. Other than that, I’m looking forward to relaxation.

Bye loves ❤


So tell me…

Have you ever had a waffle fail? 

Ever tried artichokes on a salad? 

 

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Thai Food, Bugs, AT Hiking

  1. I have not had a waffle fail yet, but soooo many pancake fails! I just make sure to grease the waffle iron extra. The is a small deli near my house that closes for a few weeks in January to go on vacation. It’s so cute!

    Like

  2. Oh that assassin bug does not look like one I would like to come across! There are so many bugs here in Australia but I have been lucky to avoid most of them so far. The day I see a poisonous spider though I will freak! I did see a snake though:-S

    Yes you should definitely plan to do some of the AT – it sounds like the most amazing trail. Even if it is just a small section, what an experience!

    Like

    1. Oh I’ve heard some scary stories about the insects in Australia! I generally like them, unless I know they could hurt me, like poisonous spiders and snakes. (yikes!) I really hope my AT hiking dreams come true at some point. I just need to find a hiking buddy who isn’t afraid of our hot, Pennsylvania summers and loves nature as much as I do 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

