You Don’t Always Have To Be Busy

It’s Friday! Hopefully you had a great week, but if that wasn’t the case, I’m sending lots of love your way and hoping that you have something fun planned for the weekend to compensate 🙂

I’m really looking forward to this weekend. I got an email from my boss, saying that I don’t have to work on Saturday. Yes please! Also I have a hiked planned, which should be challenging but awesome.

Let’s get to the title of the post, shall we?

For those of you who know me pretty well (mom, dad, wonderful friends who faithfully read my blog) you all know I like to stay busy. I think staying busy is wonderful. It’s really important to utilize your talents and get out your comfort zone by trying new things. It’s really important to help other people and give your time.

But…

You don’t always have to be busy.

Let that sink in. I’m trying to let it sink in too. Believe me, this is a huge struggle for me. When I’m not doing, doing, doing, I feel lazy and worthless. I let my identity be wrapped up in the things I do, which is such a toxic way to live. Alison asked a question at the end of her blog post yesterday. She asked, “what do you think your purpose is.” I didn’t even hesitate before answering that I believed my purpose is to daily ask Christ to shine His light through me and share His love with people around me.

It’s really simple, but that’s not how I’m living. I’m living like my purpose is to do as much stuff as I can, so I can feel fulfillment and purpose through being busy. It was a light bulb moment when I realized that even if I didn’t go to college, pursue a career, and be “successful” by common standards, it really wouldn’t matter.

Being busy means absolutely nothing. You shouldn’t feel accomplished because you’re busy. However, you should feel accomplished when you are doing meaningful tasks in your life that are beneficial to your mental, physical, and spiritual health while lifting other people up.

quotes-happiness-leo-tolstoy-600x411
source

It gets worse for me as I get older because I have more responsibilities. I also have realized that as I gain more freedom and independence, I feel the constant need to fill up my day with stuff. It’s not okay. It’s not a healthy way to live.

Our culture pushes this idea that, we need to be involved in a million different things to be happy. That if we can do enough, we’ll be okay. The concept in its raw form is okay, I guess. Like I said, being productive and getting things done is great. It’s what makes you a functioning part of society, but it can’t be our identity because sometimes there are seasons of life when you try to do everything in your power to be in control, and it won’t be enough.

When you free yourself from being constantly busy, you learn to love quiet stillness, and it nourishes all the neglected parts of you, that are shut down when your mind is racing a hundred miles an hour with all the things you have to finish doing.

I challenge you to take 5 minutes, 1o minutes today and instead of focusing on your to do list, go somewhere quiet (I vote somewhere in nature) and just. be. still. Look at the beauty around you, if you’re outside 🙂 Listen to the sounds around you or perhaps the silence. Find a place of gratitude and joy in the fact that you don’t have to be busy. You are free to be restful and joyful without constant movement and activity.

I want to leave you with the reminder that being busy isn’t your identity. You know the phrase “actions speak louder than words”. I disagree, I think intentions speak louder than both actions and words. When you find yourself overwhelmed with things to do, take a step back and ask yourself why are you so busy. Often the intentions behind it are completely innocuous. Other times your realize that you’re filling up your life with busyness to find meaning.

That’s when you need to remember that you are loved, and important, and groovy :), and you totally don’t need to do things to be meaningful. You can just be you.


So tell me…

Do you ever feel the need to be busy?

How do you combat those feelings?

Any other thoughts? 

8 thoughts on “You Don’t Always Have To Be Busy

  1. I love this and could not agree more, Vangie. I am totally guilty of always “needing” to be busy and feeling worthless if I’m not. I LOVE how you said, “intentions speak louder than both actions and words.” I was smiling and nodding my head when I read that. So much truth. It’s so important to realize that our worth and identity is in Christ, not our doings. Thank you for this reminder!

    Like

    1. You are most welcome. It’s reminder we all need to hear regularly. Also, it’s one of those things that we may be aware of, but we forget, or struggle, to apply it to our lifestyle. Hope you have a lovely, restful weekend 🙂

      Like

  2. What has been running through my mind lately is 1 Corinthians 13, ‘If I have not love I am nothing…’ Wow, I think about so many times when I did something just because it was on my to-do list, but not because it was in love, and I’m so convicted because that means it was nothing. I’m so thankful that my identity rests in Christ, and that God forgives and that the blood of Christ cleanses and the Spirit sanctifies us every day in these areas, because without that I would be so lost.

    To just be one of His children is so amazing, and there is nothing we do to make ourselves that.

    Like

    1. Yes to all of this. It’s inexplicably awesome that Christ calls us to be His children and loves us even when we fail so often. I am so comforted by that fact, especially when I’m going through a rough season.

      Like

Leave a Reply

