Week in Review: Labor Day, Running, Sleep Deprivation

HOOOLA my lovelies.

I’m really loving this long weekend. No no…I don’t think you can actually understand, how much I am LOVING this long weekend. My soul was craving some quiet, activity free days, beautiful running weather, time to bake, and all this and more was granted. I’m feeling wonderfully refreshed and blessed. (look at me rhyming)

You know the drill by now. I’m gonna get my listing on and celebrate the little and big accomplishments with Meg because she’s the awesome host of this link up.

Let’s do this thing.

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

-Finished the Oedipus Cycle. Wow…that was interesting. I won’t ruin it for you if you have yet to read it. Bring tissues.

-Ran in really hot weather on Tuesday and really awesome fall weather on Friday and Sunday. I’m pretty sure I’ll be running a half marathon in March, but I want to wait until around December to make my decision. My running schedule has been relaxed over the summer, and I’m ready for a challenge!

-Cooked Shakshuka for the first time. It was really good. If I made it again, I wouldn’t cook it for quite as long though. Have you ever made this recipe? I believe it is a Middle Eastern dish…

shakshuka

-Finished all my college applications!!!!!!! I just have to wait for transcripts and recommendation letters. This is such a huge relief. Now I’m silently dying inside while I wait for responses.

-Found a potato heart ❤ Quite the accomplishment.

heartpotato

-Grocery shopped on Wednesday. I found this life changing hummus from Hope Foods. It’s sriracha flavored. Yep, sriracha. Be still my heart.

-Used up my last jar of homemade tomato sauce 😦

tomatosauce

-My big sister’s birthday was Monday, so per Kennedy family usual, we had a dinner of her meal of choice. Then my two sisters and I acted like three year olds and made mom worry because I almost passed out laughing. Good times.

-Lots of homework was done. I can’t remember all the specific assignments, and even if I could I would spare you the details because I imagine you really don’t care. It was mostly just a lot of reading. All this learning is kicking my butt and making me t.i.r.e.d.

-Look at these lovely purple potatoes. I found them at the farmer’s market a while ago, and I love the vibrant color. Pretty food makes me happy.

poatoes

-Watched a movie with Kaden. Also while at her house, I had a fight with her couch. I was trying to unplug my phone charger, but the couch was really close to wall. Long story short, I got a large purple bruise and a wounded ego.

Vangie: 0

Couch: 1

-Watched another movie with the parents called V for Vendetta. I thought it was really good. It’s a revolution/dystopian movie made several years ago, before dystopian movies were trendy.

Happy Monday to all! Enjoy your Labor Day BBQ’s and celebrations all my American peeps.

Bye loves ❤


So tell me…

Have you watched V for Vendetta? 

Have you ever heard of/cooked shakshuka before?

 

14 thoughts on “Week in Review: Labor Day, Running, Sleep Deprivation

  1. I love potatoes; all shapes, all sizes and colors which is why tater hearts make me ridiculously happy.

    V is for Vendetta was a good movie. Natalie Portman is fantastic in it. I love her haircut.

    Congratulations on getting all your college applications done. That is HUGE! Awesome job.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    Like

  2. Those purple potatoes! And that potato heart! Oh my gosh. Both of these are amazing!!
    I love Shakshuka. It’s one of my easy go-to dinner meals when I kind of want to impress someone but secretly know how inexpensive and easy it is. You can really change it up too so its nice and versatile with what you have in your cupboard. But I bet your homemade tomato sauce made it SO much better.
    Congrats on getting those applications in. And yay for belly laughs!!

    Like

    1. I think Shakshuka will be for dinner many times in the future. At first, I was skeptical of tomatoes with eggs, but then, I realized salsa and eggs are awesome together…why wouldn’t tomato sauce and eggs be good together too??
      Belly laughs are wonderful. Basically an ab workout…so double win.

      Like

    1. My friend, from the farm I volunteer at, showed me how to make it. It’s actually really easy…just tomatoes and salt, boiled for a long time. Then I add onions, peppers, and spices when I use it for recipes.
      The hummus IS really good!

      Like

  3. Congrats on getting all your applications in! I got mine done in January my senior year so you’re really ahead! How early do colleges contact you? Where are you looking to go?

    Like

    1. Hopefully…they’ll get back to me by late November-ish or December. I’m looking at University of Pittsburgh, Boston University, University of New Haven, and a few others. Those are my top three. I’m so sceerd though Ellie. Pray that I’ll just calm the heck down, trust that financial needs will be met, and be okay wherever I go. I’m not dealing with all this uncertainy very well :/

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like a great weekend girlie!! Yesterday I went over to my daddy’s house and my parents, siblings and I played some backyard volleyball, which was really fun! Then we had meatballs subs for dinner [well, they did!] I had a few meatballs and salad since there were no gluten free buns 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes! Potatoes are truly one of the best foods. I mean…just think of all the recipes that you can make with taters. SO MANY.
      Glad you had a relaxing weekend. Lazy days are 100% needed, but I call them mental health days. I take them during the school year sometimes. Shhhh don’t tell anyone…

      Like

Leave a Reply

