{Guest Post} What Kaden Ate Wednesday (#8)

Hello, all. 

Happy Wednesday. I’m extra, super jazzed this morning because my best friend and kindred spirit agreed to share her day of eats on ze blog today! You’ve probably heard her name dropped here and there because we spend many hours together at school, baking, working out, and blabbing. We love all the same things and get annoyed by all the same things. We’re basically sisters.

I have a billion things to say about this lovely lady, but I’ll save it for another day and let her do the talking…err writing I guess. 

Take it away Kaden.


Good morning, Beautiful Creatures!  For those who are literary fans and get this reference … blessings upon you.  I was super flattered that Vangie asked me to feature some of my foods and life onto her blog.  I’ve never done this kind of thing before so my apologies if this isn’t overly appealing to you!  Anyways, since this is WIAW, you’re obviously here to find out what I’ve consumed.

veganbfastbake

For breakfast, I tried a new recipe (courtesy of Pinterest, because what aspect of my life isn’t off Pinterest).  This slice of deliciousness is a cinnamon bun flavored breakfast cake topped with vanilla-blueberry icing and a bit of my homemade espresso nut butter. (NOM) It was SO GOOD that I couldn’t believe it was vegan and full of protein.  I whipped up a coffee with stevia and hazelnut creamer for my first class of the day: Sociology.  

After arriving to first period  and getting a few instructions about a project/experiment based upon the actions of people in the high school cafeteria (terrifying, I know), I headed down to the guidance office for a meeting with my counselor about college plans.  Leaving there, I had to rush up to take my AP Lit test.  Things about the future, receiving satisfactory grades, things I can’t complete when I need to, things out of my immediate control are all terrifying triggers to my GAD (which stands for Generalized Anxiety Disorder), so, needless to say, I had a very unsettling morning.  In fact, I was trembling and sick to my stomach for the rest of the day.  If you’re reading this and suffering through these symptoms YOU ARE NOT ALONE.  I feel you – literally.  I know this blog isn’t really about mental health, but if any of you feel the need to reach out to someone, leave a comment below.  I’ll be happy to give you my contact information or any other help you need.

veganlunchbowls
Thankfully, I regained enough control to find my appetite for lunch, because I prepped these gorgeous rice/lentil platters.  Sunday is typically my ‘food prep’ day, so I was cooking to the tune of Ed Sheeran all day.  Which felt beyond relaxing.  Rice/lentils were only the base; on top sit zucchini, broccoli, asparagus, cabbage, and sliced almonds with a drizzle of ginger-soy sauce.  Needless to say, it was quite yum.  

As per usual, I dined in the art room with Vangie and some of the other art students.  It’s much more calming than the *shudder* cafeteria.  Along with the aforementioned triggers, many social situations produce the same terror.  I avoid eating there at all costs.

kadenartwork
Next up came my favorite class of all time: Drawing and Painting III. (This girl is crazy talented. ) Art is my therapy, meditation, expression, escape, love, safe place.  Turning on some music by One Republic or Coldplay or Night Riots, whipping out a paint brush, and going at it is the most freeing feeling I’ve ever experienced.  This past weekend was Suicide Prevention Day, a cause near and dear to my heart, so I painted this in its honor.  

art

In class, I framed my most recent project based off a cubist style involving tons of patterns using the same colors.  It was a fun drawing that I plan on giving to the model (hint hint: she’s one of my best friends, Juvy).  

trailmix
I was oh so hungry by the end of school but, alas, I forgot to bring snacks with me.  After I dropped Johnny off (he’s a super close friend of mine that I provide transportation to and from school for) and arrived home, I grabbed a palmful of trail mix I bought from BJs and a baby orange.  This isn’t my typical pre-weightlifting fuel, but I was craving sweet and salty.

The gym was far too crowded for my liking tonight.  I didn’t even get to touch a barbell!  This really disappointed me, but I made do with dumbbells and extra reps followed by a pilates “burnout round” where I do set moves for a minute each and repeat until failure.  Ouch.  Leg day is always a killer.  I am not looking forward to sitting down on the toilet tomorrow … all the Fit Girls reading this, you know what I mean!

crabcakes

Dinner that evening was a warm, savory dish courtesy of my madre: salmon cakes and zucchini-tomato bake.  I’ve realized I really do eat quite a bit of zucchini in the course of a week.  I have no shame.

I also have no shame in admitting I watched 3 episodes of Supernatural before I even contemplated doing my lengthy list of homework or evening chores.  

supernatural.png

I’m almost done with season 9, but I still have to finish season 10 and 11 before October rolls around since that’s when they premiere season 12!  Fun Fact: Supernatural is the longest running Sci-Fi show in America.  And I get to be a part of that!  Some people may try and bash the show.  Do you know what I have to say about that?… And yes, that is an actual quote from the show.

kadenmugcake
When I finally convinced myself of the importance of doing homework, I got a fair amount done before my evening hunger pangs rolled in.  I decided on a peanut butter banana mug cake, topped with extra banana.  After the picture, though, I added a few extra chocolate chips because why not.  

Since I had a rough battle with anxiety today, I knew that sleep was going to play hide-and-go-seek.  A really good herbal tea for evenings like that is the Kava Stress Relief tea produced by Yogi.  It’s a favorite of mine that doesn’t even require sweeteners.  

Sleep well, Darlings, and keep in mind that even stars can never shine without darkness.


I’m linking up with LauraArman, and Jenn for WIAW.

Thank you Kaden for guest posting! We’ll hopefully see more guest posts from this lovely lady in the future…wink wink, nudge nudge. 

Bye loves ❤


So tell Kaden…

Have you watched the TV show Supernatural? 

What are some of your outlets for anxiety or stress?

What topic should she guest post on in the future? 

 

4 thoughts on “{Guest Post} What Kaden Ate Wednesday (#8)

  1. ❤ Thank you Kaden for sharing a day in your life; school would be hard on me, I've never been to a formal school. I did do school, just at home! I think it would have been difficult for me to be at school; I love meeting new people, but I can also be kind of quiet, and I love wide open spaces.

    How do you deal with anxiety when you're struggling? ❤

    I would love for Kaden to guest post a day in her life or why she's studying what she's studying!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your support! When I really struggle with my own mind, which tends to be a lot these days, I turn to art, journaling, meditation, food. Al of these are stories for another time haha

      Like

  2. Lovely day of eats, Kaden! I have struggled and struggle with anxiety so i completely understand those feelings! Working out, ASMR videos (relaxation videos) on YouTube, and the support of my family and friends always helps me!
    I’d love another guest post. I agree with Emily, a day in the life post would be nice!

    Like

  3. So many good eats Kaden! That salad is so full of colors and looks delicious! And you’re so not alone with eating zucchini all week long. OR having pain when sitting on the toilet after leg day. I’m with ya girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

