When Introspection Becomes Egocentric

Good morning beautiful hooomans.

This past week felt like a whirlwind. This is evident in the fact that I can’t remember chronologically what happened. Nope, not even a little. It all just mushed together. I can tell you that it was a rather anxious week though. Lots of thinking about getting into college, paying for college, and the ultimate “whattheheckwillmylifebelikeintenyears” thought was just circulating and circulating in my mind.

I was being introspective to the point where it became all about me.

life-goes-on

Introspection is totally awesome, I might add. It’s a gift that develops as we age, and hopefully, it helps us think about who we are and how we’re doing at this whole life thing.

It also can make us super egocentric…thinking that the entire universe revolves around what happens to ‘ME’.

Dear ‘ME’:

Life goes on if you don’t get into the college of your dreams.

Life goes on if you get that job that pays six figures.

Life goes on if you fail.

Life goes on if you have debt.

Life goes on if you don’t get to do all the things on your bucket list.

Life goes on if you feel defeated.

Life goes on if all the people around you are getting married, having babies, and buying houses, but you’re single and living independently.

Life goes on if the plan you had for your life falls through because who are we to think that we’ve got it all figured out.

It’s normal to feel anxious about the future or about your current place in life, but I’ve realized that dwelling on it too much, not only makes me upset but unable to appreciate the successes and joys of the people around me. It’s helpful to remind ourselves that life will probably not go the way we intend it to go. In fact, it’ll throw us a whole lot of curve balls. We can be confident in knowing that through it all…

Life. Goes. On.

Bye loves ❤


Have you ever been introspective to a fault?

How do you avoid being anxious and overthinking the future? 

What area in your life do you need to tell yourself “life goes on”? 

11 thoughts on “When Introspection Becomes Egocentric

  1. I agree with every word you’ve said. I also like how you highlighted that ‘life goes on’ even if we do not all get that perfect future we envisioned for ourselves, as it is absolutely true! It’s amazing how much difference it can make to your mood by observing and appreciating what we have here and now 🙂

    Like

  2. AMEN sister; I think I get way too depressed if I’m always focused on me; I agree that introspection is good, but for me, if I don’t go from me to what Jesus can do in my life, to what He has done, I do get depressed or disappointed.

    Life isn’t all about me; and that is 100% okay, because I love getting to celebrate with others and appreciate their gifts and successes too!

    Like

    1. Yes Emily. I think solely focusing on ourselves can be so disheartening because we know that alone, we have no hope. Remembering Christ and those other relationships we have been blessed with, makes all the difference.

      Like

  3. As a planner AND an anxious worrier, this is something I can so relate to! I often struggle not to let all of the little things in my world bring me down. This was such a great reminder for me! I like to lean on my husband and other family and also on God when these feelings seem to be taking over my mind.

    Like

  4. I agree Vangie – it’s hard to find an amount of introspection and reflection that helps me make good decisions regarding the future without removing me from all the wonderful things going on around me in the present. Also, I love reading your posts and miss seeing you at the farm! -Briana

    Like

    1. Briana, thank you so much for reading and commenting. It means so much.

      Yes. Staying present is one of my foremost struggles. Especially with college anxiety on my mind lately, I’ve been all over the place, but I’m thankful for activities that ground me and remind that I have so much to be grateful for in the ‘here and now’.

      I miss working with you all so much! Hopefully I’ll manage to set aside some time, before it gets too cold, to come out to the farm and see you all 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

