5 Ways to Make Having a Cold More Bareable

Hello friends.

Happy Monday to you all. On Thursday, I managed to snag a cold, and I have spent the past few days nursing myself back to health. It’s unpleasant, but I tell myself I’m building up my immune system for later on in the year…sure, let’s go with that. Side Note: Being sick isn’t the worst thing in world, but it still sucks. I want to have my pep back. SOMEONE FIND MY PEP.

Although I’m less than jazzed to have a cold, at least I got it this weekend, which means I should be better by next weekend. This Friday and Saturday, I’m heading down to Geneva College to visit Olivia, a close friend, so at least I won’t be sick for that.

Also, I’ve been pretty careless about getting enough sleep, food, and hydration. Life has been busy, and I haven’t been prioritizing my health, which is contradictory to what I preach everyday…ehh, what can I say, I’m only human.

I have accumulated some tips and tricks (Probably 90% of them are from my mom. Thanks mom) that make being sick a bit more manageable. Sadly, they won’t cure you instantly, but they will help with the nasty symptoms.

1. Gargle with salt water: If you have a sore throat, this really helps alleviate some pain, almost immediately. It’s temporary, but it works wonders if you’re looking for some quick relief. (My recipe: Add about 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of sea salt to 1 mug of warm water. Stir to dissolve. Gargle and spit.)

2. Drink herbal tea: This will also help with a sore throat, but I appreciate the warmth and comfort tea provides when I’m not feeling so great. Also, hydration is super important for healing quickly, so tea is double win. I love double wins. It’s the win…but double.

hottea

3. Skip your workout/Cancel your appointment/Stay home/Sleep in: When you’re sick, give your body the rest it needs. I say this a lot because I think we all get too caught up with how busy life is. We don’t want to disappoint other people, so we push ourselves past our limits. Your willingness is noble, but for heaven’s sake, give yourself a break.

4. Read a book: It just feels good to grab a blanket and cozy up on the couch with a good read. This one is healing for the soul.

5. Eat nutrient dense foods: Your body is fighting a pathogen. Even if you’re not very active, you still need energy. Eat foods high in vitamin C and antioxidants. Also, veggie soup is incredibly comforting to eat when you’re not feeling well, and it can pack a hefty nutrient punch.

soup

Hope these were helpful. I did my best to follow a few of them this weekend, and I’m feeling better already.

See you all back here on Wednesday!

Bye loves ❤


 

So tell me…

What are your tips for fighting colds?

How was your weekend?

4 thoughts on “5 Ways to Make Having a Cold More Bareable

  1. I’ve been fighting a cold too these past few days!! I skipped my normal workout on Saturday to rest up and while I did still workout, it was only an hour of spin in my garage which was pretty laid back. I actually do better when Im sick to keep moving a bit, so thats why I went for an easy spin sesh! I’ve been guzzling smoothies to not only help my throat but to also get in all those nutrients that I know I need!

    Like

  2. Oh no! Starting into fall with a cold is no bueno. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a quick recovery and you being able to fully enjoy the weekend with your friend!
    Like you, I’m a fan of double wins and tea definitely belongs into that category. Depending on how I feel I’ve also found gentle movement like slow walks to help me when sick. Clearing up that respiratory tract and being outside usually makes me feel better [i.e. avoiding cabin fever], too – so another double win.

    Like

Leave a Reply

