WIAW #12: Why I Ate What I Ate

Linking up with Laura for What I Ate Wednesday. I’m not feeling an intro today, so let’s get right to the good stuff.

WIAW+tag

 

Breakfast: Vegan Pancakes

It was a chilly morning, and I wanted something comforting and filling. Carby things are comforting, ergo pancakes were eaten. Plus PB because PB is liquid gold.

veganpancake

Lunch: Butternut Squash and Eggs

I love when butternut squash is in season. It’s so buttery and delicious. I wasn’t super hungry for lunch. But I still needed food, so I made a quick bowl of veggies and eggs to eat.

butternutsquash

Snack: Apple + Peanut Butter

I was just bored and needed something to munch on while I did school work. Ehh I’m only human. I snack mindlessly. I also stress snack (is that a thing??), and the homework I was doing was definitely triggering some stress snacking.

snacktime-1

Dinner: Soup + Broccoli

I’m realizing that I wasn’t that hungry on this particular day, but I was looking for comfort in my meals. Those days happen. This was just another comforting meal after a busy day.

soup-1

Dessert: Muffins + Coconut Butter + Chocolate

Honestly I ate this like 10 minutes after dinner because I had the munchies. Again, not even hungry but this sounded good…and it was. Coconut + choco chips = 10/10

muffins

Some days I eat for comfort rather than hunger.

Some days I’m so busy I just eat whatever I manage to get my hands on.

Some days are filled with chocolate and ice cream.

Some days are filled with veggies.

It’s balance.Β 


So tell me…

Do you ever think about why you eat something?

What does balance look like for you?

19 thoughts on “WIAW #12: Why I Ate What I Ate

  1. Oh yes. Mindless, bored, or stress snacking is absolutely a thing. I find there are certain times in the day or certain activities that I do (reading or writing in particular) that I just feel I have to be eating something. Sometimes it bugs me but I’m trying to let that go. Very often we just need food for comfort.

    Like

    1. Agreed. I love munching on pretzels or apple slices while I read. Yeah sometimes it bugs me too, but that’s okay for now πŸ™‚ As long as we can move past those pesky thoughts and keep on munching away, it gets better.

      Like

  2. For me balance looks like a cookie in one hand and a salad or an apple in another hand; that’s a bit simplistic, but I love to eat different things. For some reason I don’t always crave veggies, so I Just go with it and usually eat some more carbs. πŸ™‚

    All of your eats always look really good Evangline; I love that you called peanut butter, ‘liquid gold.’

    Like

    1. That’s a great way to look at balance. Even if we go a little deeper and compare the metaphorical “weight” of both the cookie and apple. They’re both equally needed and of equal weight…if that makes sense πŸ™‚

      PB truly is liquid gold ❀ I'm so thankful it exists.

      Like

  3. I hear you, Evangeline! It’s good to eat for comfort, not just for physical hunger. And also, I think it’s important to eat enough, even on days when we’re not that physically hungry. For me at least, if I don’t eat very much one day, I’ll be really hangry and grouchy the next day.

    Like

    1. I can relate to that Joyce. If I have a skimpy day of eating, usually in the evening, all those missed calories really add up, and I get ravenous. Then I just want to eat ALL the food πŸ™‚ Proof that our bodies are so smart.

      Like

Leave a Reply

