We Don’t Know What the Future Holds…

Do you ever feel like your mind is fast forwarding a few hours, a day, a month ahead of you? Yeah, me too. It is especially pronounced during seasons of change. Currently, thinking about the switch from high school to college has been causing some consternation. Where will I end up? Will I do well academically? Will I make friends? Will I find a job or pursue a higher degree?

Beyond my situation, getting married, changing your career, or moving can induce that thought process. I would venture to say, that thinking about the future is healthy. It’s wonderful to dream about what the next several years will be like with the love your life or how exciting it will be to pursue your major in college, that’s okay. But, when those thoughts cause stress, and in turn that stress becomes distress, then the innocuous thinking pattern has become harmful.

There are questions I have been asking myself over the past few months, as I tentatively await for college decisions, that do not foster healthy thought. They make me feel distressed about the future. Although the habit of thinking “in the future” is really hard to break(I’ll probably be working on it for the rest of my life), we can remind ourselves of TRUTH when the mind is working overtime.

Where will I end up?–You don’t know. I don’t know. He/she doesn’t know. It is out of our control. Scary huh? Hate to break it to you, but just thinking about it doesn’t give us even a smidgen of control. Speaking for myself, it only results in fear and worry. Focus on the present, the here and now. What choices can I make now that will positively impact the future. Beyond that, it’s just faith.

Will I be successful?–Success is a relative term. You can be successful by being a loving person and giving your time to other people. You can be successful by making lots of moolah. You can be successful by learning a lot, being a mom/dad, traveling, reading, being a garbage truck driver/painter/writer/politician/teacher. Get the point? Being you and pursuing your gifts…that is success.

What if ____ doesn’t work out?–Life rarely “works out” how we plan it to work out, which is a good thing I might add. We would miss out on so many growth initiating experiences if life always “worked out.”

What if I disappoint myself, my family, my friends?–Two things about this one. A) In most cases, your family and friends are rooting for you! They love you! (family you’re stuck with, but if your friends don’t love you, find better friends. I’ll be your friend ❤ ) So if something doesn’t work out, hopefully they can be your support system!  B) The worst that can happen is that you fail. If that happens, it’s okay. We all fail. Failure is an excellent way to learn how to not do something.

Hopefully there were a few nuggets of truth to pull out and carry with you, if you happen to have an overactive brain like me.

Ooooh one last thing! One of my favorite people started her own very own blog!!! Go check out her first post. She has much wisdom to share.

You Are Safe With Me

Bye loves ❤


So tell me…

What questions do you have about the future?

How do you remind yourself of truth when thoughts about the future are overwhelming?

12 thoughts on “We Don’t Know What the Future Holds…

  1. I love how you put things into perspective here. A lot of times we can fret about the unknown and it ultimately holds us back. The fear of failure or that unknown keeps us from even stepping out the door. Good for you for being able to see this and find the positives to face the things you worry about!

    Like

    1. You worded that so well, Kat. It’s interesting how fearful we are of not knowing the future, and like you said, that fear cripples us. It’s easy to tell yourself not to worry about the future, but it’s so difficult to put it into practice 🙂

      Like

  2. I think one of the best way for me to realize the truth is to just go and listen to Scripture and remember that God’s plans for His children are SO SO good. Even if they are difficult, they are always good. And I so want to be like Paul when he said that he was learning to be content in whatever state he was in. ❤ I so agree dear friend that I just want to be enjoy right where I'm at, and trust God to hold the future, because He has held my present and my past. ❤

    Like

  3. This is a really wise and insightful post, Vangie. It reminds me of a conversation I once had with a few friends. One friend was really worried that she was never going to find a significant other, and all my other friends were saying, “Don’t worry. You will.” I was the grouch who was like, “Well, we don’t know that. And it’s healthy to come to terms with that.”
    All my friends were mad at me for saying that, but I guess I stand by what I said, for exactly the reasons you’ve pointed out here. She was worried about “being successful” and having things “work out” only by the definition of success that she expected, and I guess I was encouraging her to think more broadly about the many things that success could look like.
    Her name was also Evangeline. Weird, huh?
    Anyway, as you’re looking forward to college, I think it’s really wise to acknowledge that you might have a ton of fun and totally love it…or you might discover that some or all aspects of it are not the best thing for you. But there are so many other awesome ways you can be, well, awesome!
    Also, waiting back for those admissions letters is nerve-racking. Good luck!

    Like

    1. Agreed. Thinking broadly about the picture is really healthy. And props to you for actually being honest and giving helpful advice to your friend. That whole, “everything will be okay, you’ll find what you’re looking for” is kind of a cop out answer in my opinion. So cool that her name was Evangeline 🙂 I don’t encounter many, so it feels special to hear of another person with my name.

      I know I’ve been overthinking the transition to college, and you’re right. College isn’t the end-all be-all of my life. I don’t have to find complete satisfaction and fulfillment in it because it will be only one chapter of a whole book. Thanks for your insight ❤

      Like

  4. This is so crucial to understand! I have to remind myself that worrying and playing the what if’s in my head will not change the outcome or serve me in any positive way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

