WIAW #17: I’m growing a thing in my pantry + Lazy day eats

Happy Wednesday!

I’ve missed sharing a day of food. It’s always nice to reflect on how our eating patterns change based on seasons, cravings, activity levels, and lots of other things. I’ve noticed a shift to preferring more savory foods and adding more protein to meals, probably because my workouts have been harder and runs have been longer. It’s working for me right now.

Linking up with Arman for WIAW.

WIAW+tag

In other news, I jumped on the kombucha train and started a batch on Monday…that’s the thing I’m growing in my pantry, my baby scoby. Hopefully, it’ll be ready next week. I’ll keep you updated. This weird jelly thing is going to do great things. GREAT things.

IMG_0765.JPG
just a girl and her scoby

Bread is such a perfect food. It’s so satisfying and golden, crunchy warm. <- That makes very little grammatical sense, but we’ll role with it.  A three egg spinach omelet, two pieces of sprouted grain toast + coconut oil, and chai tea to start my day. Not too shabby.

eggsandtoast

Lunch was a plantain fried in coconut oil with seitan, broccoli, cauliflower, and salsa.

IMG_0761.JPG

I’m always munchy in the afternoon. An apple and these vegan chocolate banana muffins were a good solution to afternoon tummy rumbles. Honestly though, this was a comfort food kind of day. It was cold and rainy outside, the last day of Christmas break, and I spent a lot of time curled up on the couch watching Netflix.

IMG_0728.JPG

This was such a delicious meal. I cooked sweet potatoes in a pan with broccoli, black beans, and broccoli. Yum. Topped with avo, of course.

IMG_0767.JPG

The parents watched more Netflix with me while I nibbled on almonds and chocolate. It was a super relaxing, restful day before school started again.

IMG_0768.JPG

Nourish yourself, not just with food but by growing healthy relationships, moving your body mindfully, and taking care of your mental health. Indulge in some quiet time this week. Read a good book. Talk to a special someone.

Hope you all have a super week. I’ll just be hanging out by my pantry cheering on my gelatinous, scooooby friend. Gross, Vangie. 

Toodles ❤


So tell me…

What food “season” are you in right now?

Have you ever tried to brew your own kombucha?

What’s your favorite cozy, comfort food to eat on a dreary day? 

 

12 thoughts on “WIAW #17: I’m growing a thing in my pantry + Lazy day eats

  1. Those muffins and nut butter look like the perfect snack! I have been wanting to try to do my own kombucha to save my wallet from the 2 bottles I typically drink a week. I need like 2 more hours in everyday to make all the homemade items I really want, lol.

    Like

  2. Yesssssss girl you got a SCOBY!! I’ve been brewing my own kombucha for 5 years now and to say I’m in love with my scobies is an understatement. They are my beautiful babies and it is the hardest thing getting rid of any of them. Just you wait… soon you will see. If you have any questions shoot me an email!
    This day just screams so much comfort. Mmmmmmm. Chocolate and netflix <3. What shows are you digging right now?

    Like

    1. I am overflowing with kombucha related questions. Expect an email from me soon. I’m super excited though, and I’ve been parading my scoby to all our holiday house guests. Hehe. Shows? Well, we started, and finished, The OA, which I really liked. Also, I love The Office (I’ve probably watched all the episode 30 times) and Criminal Minds.

      Like

  3. I would definitely say that I’m in the warm, sweet, easily digestible foods right now (phase) after having a bit of a ‘flare-up’ in my stomach last week.

    I love how you have so much warm, delicious comforting food here. God is gracious; knowing Him and His graciousness is absolutely incredible, even while we’re eating a delicious piece of chocolate or a silky bowl of ice cream. ❤ I love you Vangie. You're so gentle and kind in the way you encourage others to take care of their bodies.

    Like

    1. I hope you’re feeling better. Thank goodness for foods that are gentle on the stomach. God’s graciousness is amazing. It’s so wonderful to remember that food, exercise, and our physical bodies are not what He looks at. He cares about our hearts. Love you too, Em ❤

      Like

  4. Looks like such a yummy day of eats! Do you have a recipe for those muffins? Looks awesome! I love roasted veggies and potatoes or a big bowl of soup when its chilly outside.

    Like

    1. I don’t actually. It was one of those experiments where I threw a bunch of stuff in a bowl and prayed that it would turn out well 🙂 I wish I would have written down the recipe though because I would like to make it again. Oh well, I’ll do better next time. Those foods sound perfect for chilly weather, especially the soup. So comforting.

      Like

  5. I want to brew some bucha really bad! It seems like something I would be into, but I have yet to take the plunge. I haven’t had a plantain in forever, but that needs to happen soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

