Question for You: Feeling Tired

Tired is a feeling.

Tired is also a warning. Tired should not be neglected.

One morning on my way to school (feeling, you guessed it, tired) I wondered how my perception, interactions, and outlook would change if I wasn’t so darn tired all the time. Then, I asked myself why I was so tired and why I felt guilty on days I wasn’t tired. (I also got tired of using the word tired and tried to come up with other adjectives, but I decided that tired just fit.)

What about different types of tired? Lately, it’s been a spiritual and mental tired, but other times it’s a physical or social tired. I also realized that it takes a long time to get “un-tired.” One 10 hour night of rest doesn’t make up for dozens of 5 hour nights of rest. One rest day doesn’t make up for weeks of skipped rest days. One day free of school or work responsibilities doesn’t make up for months of overbooked days.

question-for-you-1

This week’s question: How can we combat that chronic need to feel tired, and how do you best recover from an exceptionally tired day, week, or month? 

Other guiding questions:

Why does our culture worship ‘tired’? 

How can we strike a balance between hyper-productivity and inactivity? 


 

11 thoughts on “Question for You: Feeling Tired

  1. This is a great topic! I hate how our culture glorifies being busy and exhausted 100% of the time. I refuse to allow these cultural pressures to change the fact that my body needs rest. Physical rest of sleeping, emotional rest of relaxing, and spiritual rest of praying!

    Like

  2. It’s so hard to catch up on sleep when you’re on a deficit; sometimes it takes a week or so of me stepping back and just doing less. But it’s tough, because I don’t want to be lazy, but sometimes I just can’t function. I’ll often take time and just listen to a podcast, Scripture, or just sit and think or pray.

    Like

    1. I worry about striking that balance too. I want to be productive and avoid procrastination, but I don’t want to neglect my mental, spiritual, and physical health. It’s tough! Sitting in a quiet place and spending time in prayer makes a huge difference.

      Like

  3. Our society in this age is so bizarre – the fact that probably 8/10 people respond with “Tired” when they ask you how they are. That to me.. is nothing appealing. You are right in the sense that it seems to be what people think is “normal” or “right” or even a sign of success, when really… what is being tired doing for us? Making us miserable and probably not even able to do our best work. I don’t know how we can combat this paradigm we have going on, other than trying to show ourselves how much better – and productive – life is when we aren’t run down and swamped.
    That being said I’m one of those people who hate the fact that we need to sleep so much and really dislike – mentally – taking naps. However this week I have taken a few 20-30 minute naps and they truly have refreshed me for the rest of the day. Anything more than 30 minutes just makes me groggy.

    Like

    1. Bingo. You pointed out that life is better and actually more productive when we are well rested. Love that. Naps have to be well planned for them to work for me. If they’re too late in the day, then I can’t sleep well at night. If they’re too long, I wake up uber grumpy. Buuut, those little quick cat naps can work wonders. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Cora.

      Like

  4. I think you’re sort of insightful that our culture does sort of worship tired. Especially in high school, we’re supposed to do everything–sports, arts, theater, honor roll, church, have a social life–and then in college we don’t have time to do as much because the things we are committed to require even more of our time and energy, and then we’re supposed to be committed to all those activities for our kids. Not to mention the cultural expectation that we workout but also paradoxically all follow these low-calorie diets so that we’re undernourished. Blech!
    I’m not very good about striking that balance, but I’ve gotten better. One thing I do is: if I’m going to take a break, I commit to taking that break. I don’t let myself feel guilty about taking time for yoga, exercise, a date out to dinner, or a movie at home. I just take the time.

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh. Our expectations for involvement keep climbing higher and higher. It’s insane. I’m all about being productive and excelling, but there is most definitely a threshold that shouldn’t be crossed. The average person isn’t able to devote 100% of their passion to a billion different activities. It just doesn’t work!

      I’m hoping to get better at finding that balance. I think you’re spot on about college shifting things into perspective. Eventually, we have to pick a focus, but you’re also right about adulthood bringing its own load of unrealistic expectations. Ahh! I love that last comment though…about committing to take the time. I know for me, it’s more meaningful if I specifically set aside time to rest. Thanks for you thoughts ❤

      Like

  5. Your post reminded me of my college friend when I was 17. He told me he only needed 5 hours sleep a night. He slept not more than 5 hours a night for a year. Then the next year, he cannot sleep less than 11 hours. Otherwise, he would be extremely tired. The body catches up with us even if it’s a delayed response.

    Like

Leave a Reply

