Week in Review: Let’s Be Real

Good morning, lovely hoomans.

“A picture is worth a thousand words.”

Have you heard that before? Me too. I think it’s a misleading phrase. A picture most definitely says a lot, but it says whatever the creator wants it to say. The end result is a manipulation of the perspective of the viewer. We want pictures to look flawless and bright and professional. There’s nothing wrong with that, but if we fail to share the messy details of life, along with the polished parts, we lose a realness that everyone needs to see. We’re still human. We’re still obnoxiously human. As a blogger, it’s easy to make life look shiny and picturesque, but today, you get the whole, messy story.

Linking up with Meg.

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

halfmarathon (2)Maybe 5 minutes before this was taken, I stumbled across the finish line, ugly cried, and then felt super shaky and giddy at the same time. Post-race feels are always a mixed basket. I had butt sweat and face sweat and elbow sweat, even though it was an icy 20° F. Also, it’s important to note that I ran the entire half marathon behind a man wearing a bright yellow kilt. The smile was for him. Kilted man, you are my inspiration.

IMG_17071I wondered if the super sweet lady would card me and my sisters. She definitely did, which meant that my sisters got to try the fancy, local berry wine, and I got to watch. Womp.

IMG_17031I spent a good three minutes finding the most ginormous apple to purchase. Size is everything when it comes to fruit. Let’s be real, the bigger the better.

IMG_17221My sisters and I found a farmer’s market in the area which was super cute. At said market, there was a man walking around the area where we were sitting counting handfuls of loose bills. Suspicious, right? He then made some concerning comments, one of them being, “I wish I could come home with you.” Nope nope nope.

IMG_16981I like fancy green organic things as much as the next health nerd, but I can’t afford them. I refuse to dish out $7 for three leaves of kale. I don’t care if you sang to it and grew it with love and spritzed it with holy water. That’s too much for kale.

IMG_17181All I did was eat this weekend. Well, eat and watch The Great British Baking Show, which is basically watching other people eat. Saturday afternoon, I found this incredible cookie. You know you’ve found a winner when the chocolate to cookie ratio is 5:1. Sunday night, I ate half a loaf of homemade soda bread.

And if we’re being still being real, I should tell you that I procrastinated almost every “to do” on my list. Which means that if I wrote an actual list of completed tasks for my Week in Review, it would be painfully pitiful because my biggest accomplishment was fitting an entire half loaf of bread in my currently aching tum.

But that’s how life looks sometimes, and I’m learning that it’s okay.

Happy Monday, friends. Be a little extra real today. It’s refreshing.


So tell me…

How did last week go?

One “real” thing that happened in the past few days. 

19 thoughts on “Week in Review: Let’s Be Real

  1. Last week was good. I wouldn’t say that I got as much done as I should have; I bemoaned myself too much; I was too self-focused on my own problems instead of caring about others. I compared myself to others too much and didn’t look at God’s grace and Jesus and how wondrous His salvation is… I was too stressed about little things, like not giving the dogs enough walks. I stressed about blog projects, when I should have been just going to bed or praying about it. I went too bed too late most nights; but THURSDAY was an awesome day of snowboarding in God’s creation, and it really turned my mind and attitude around.

    $7 for 3 leaves of kale? That’s just craziness. O_O And that farmer’s market encounter sounds odd? Maybe that guy was a little wrong in the head? And congratulations SO SO SO much on that half-marathon! That is an incredible accomplishment Vangie, and I love your beaming smile from ear to ear afterwards.

    Like

    1. “Too stressed about little things”…that’s me too. It’s something I need to work on 🙂 I’m so happy you had a lovely day on Thursday. Snowboarding sounds fun. The farmer’s market encounter was definitely strange. I was happy that all three of us were together, and we were in a public place. Thank you, Emily! It was a good race.

      Like

  2. A picture “says whatever the creator wants it to say.” You would do so well in my first-year college writing course! College prepared, you are.
    Multiple thoughts.
    Congrats on your half marathon! That’s absolutely amazing–not just anyone can do that. In 20 degree weather too. You must feel so proud. Eat and sleep!
    Also 5-1 on chocolate to cookie sounds like the perfect ratio.
    $7 is waaaay too much for kale. I’m not much into the whole organic produce thing, either. I’m like, I could grow kale totally organically (no pesticides) in my own backyard and it would be way cheaper than that.

    Like

    1. You don’t even know how happy that makes me. College preparedness is one of my many anxieties. Am I picking up some Yoda? Because that would also make me super happy.

      Yes! So much eating and sleeping has been happening. My body is t i r e d. And right? Such a great ratio. Agreed, backyard kale is the way to go.

      Like

  3. Girl, you are my hero. Sometimes we just need weekends like these. Who cares if the “to-do” list still hasn’t been touched! That isn’t a reflection on you at all – we all need to just step away from the things we NEED to do sometimes and do instead the things that we WANT to do. Ain’t nothing wrong with that!

    Like

  4. You and I were on the same wavelength with our posts today: keeping it real. I like a good dose of reality in my posts.

    Congratulations on the half marathon, That is an awesome accomplishment. I sweat under my boobs. I call it swoobs (boob sweat) and you’ve got swass (ass sweat). 🙂

    Nice work on the soda bread. I’m impressed and give you two thumbs up. 🙂

    Happy Monday and here’s to a great week filled with swoobs and swass. 🙂

    Like

  5. I am completely with you on the polished vs. real outlook on blogging. But I also like pretty pictures. So I try to polish my pictures and make them as pretty as possible and then to balance things out I talk about all the mess. And messy stories are interesting stories so keep sharing these bits of your life, too! Also your post race picture is adorable! Congrats on the half! 🙂

    I so badly procrastinated last week, too! Though I feel like eating half a loaf of bread is a legit accomplishment 😉

    Like

  6. I don’t think I know how to make my life look shiny and picturesque. I know I act but my talent can only go so far ;).

    That being said, I think realness IS the most beautiful picture you can paint. Swoobs and swass and all (thank you Meg). Congratulations on the run (YES KILT MAN) and I hope you really enjoyed your time with your sisters. Too bad that lady tried to kill your buzz. Come over. I’ll feed you win.

    If you feed me bread.

    Like

  7. Realness and honesty are two of the highest valued characteristics for me. I can’t read blogs that make the author’s life sound like endless unicorn cuddles and rainbows. Sorry, not buying into that. Which in turn means I appreciate your realness a lot.
    Congratulations on your half marathon! Also, sometimes letting the to-do be what it is and just relaxing is the best choice. <- granted, I'm still learning to accept this in my own life but cheer on others doing so because it is good at times.

    Like

  8. I LOVE THE GBBS!!!! I seriously watched it religiously and love how much I learned. It is so much better than American competition shows. The people are so nice!
    Congrats on your race!!! 20 degrees is no joke!

    Like

  9. Love this! I agree with you on the picture thing…especially these days with social media! Real posts? This weekend I barely got off my couch becuase I was so tired and I’m pretty sure I just changed pajamas to pajamas rather than picking out an actual outfit. Also, my brush did not see my hair this weekend nor did any makeup see my face 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

