Week in Review: Simple Things

I’m taking Week in Review back to its purest form. No deep reflections. No metaphors. Although those versions are wonderful and healing in their own way, sometimes we need simplicity.

Week-In-Review-Button-Final
Linking up with Meg

Let’s get to it.

IMG_1059

  • Turned over my garden and found these carrots from last summer. They were a little woody, but a good smear of hummus made it all better.
  • Wiggled my toes in fresh, cool dirt of said overturned garden. It is a magnificent feeling friends. Y’all should try it.
  • Filled out applications and wrote essays for three scholarships.

IMG_1042

  • Prepped veggie burgers, soup, and muffins for the week.
  • Grocery shopped.
  • Finally watched Finding Dory. Actually, I’m half-watching it as I type this up. If I’m honest, it’s not as good as Finding Nemo. 

IMG_1050

  • Spent some time soaking up sunshine and neature and earthy, springtime smells.
  • I wore shorts. AND a tanktop…outside. It was super.

IMG_1045

  • Composted. I started this bin as a part of my sustainability project for my AP Literature and Composition class. It relates; I promise.
  • Finished Blink, by Malcolm Gladwell. I highly recommend it. It’s about the power of snap decisions.

IMG_1043

  • I did necessary things like wash laundry, finish homework, and take showers.
  • Got to run two times. One run was with a friend and another was a speedy treadmill run.
  • Talked with a friend on the phone who is away at college. I don’t do this enough. It was lovely.

IMG_1048

Simple. List. Done.

Hope you all have a fantastic week…or at least a bearable week. If it’s just bearable, find someone to hug, or some dirt to wiggle your toes in.


So tell me…

What are some “simple” things you did last week?

What are your favorite spring related activities? 

15 thoughts on “Week in Review: Simple Things

  1. Oh my gosh all the feelings of SPRING! I want spring! I want to wear shorts and caress myself with fresh garden dirt. I’m just going to pretend I’m not wearing my winter parka and live vicariously through you and this post.

    I also just watched Finding Dory, but I was also writing a post at the same time so I didn’t end up focusing vey much. I knew it wouldn’t be as good as Nemo. How could it?

    Have a lovely spring filled week ❤

    Like

  2. I like simple…and spring time flowers, composting and digging my feet into the dirt. The carrots are sexy even if they are woody. I can’t wait to get into my garden this year. Just a few more weeks. Squeal.
    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    Like

  3. I like the simple straightforward check marks too! I agree with you about Finding Dory–it was very cute and had some funny parts but it was nowhere near as good as Finding Nemo!

    Like

  4. I still need to watch Finding Dory. I think because I loved Finding Nemo so much, I’m putting it off so that it doesn’t ruin that movie for me. Why must sequels always do that?!

    Like

  5. Well, i planted some flowers. Im preparing for hernia surgery this Thursday. I know its going to go well . So many sweet prayers. Really enjoy your blog Vangie. Lots of wiggles when I get the chance but I think my toes will be in the sand! 😍🌅💞👏AuntE.

    Like

  6. I LOVE simple things. My favorite simple things are taking the dogs on walks, doing a bit of baking, listening to things, eating good food, and talking with my family, praying together, and listening to good music.

    Like

Leave a Reply

