Life Lately

Hi all.

I feel like it has been eons since I published a post. Life has just been “life” lately. Lots of studying for finals and AP tests, working, reading. All good things, but when they pile on top of each other, it feels a little overwhelming. Anywho, that’s why I’ve been absent from the blog. I’m also really behind on my blog reading, but in a few weeks, I will be a graduated senior, with a three month summer break on my hands to catch up on blog posts and make some of those recipes that have been collecting cobwebs in the back of my brain.

I’m not sure I feel about the whole senior bit. There are all kinds of emotions whirling around, but along with all the emotions is some major stress about AP exams and final projects. So those emotions are on hold for now, which probably isn’t the best way to deal with them, but c’est la vie.

20170502_171028Farm…there are baby lambs at the farm! I’ve been spending two-ish days per week there, after school, for a sustainability project I’m working on. These two little ones are brand spankin’ new. The mama sheep is a trooper. In fact, all mamas are troopers. Birthing a tiny being is frightening, and raising that tiny being is even more frightening. I know because I was one of those tiny beings. I’m not tiny anymore, but I’m still lots of work and sometimes frightening. Mama Kennedy can vouch for that.

IMG_1162.JPGFood…Oats have been a favorite lately, especially with cashew butter, which legitimately tastes like cookie dough. The last few weeks, I wasn’t doing a very good job of nourishing my body well. Yet again, it proved that restriction really never leads anywhere beneficial, both physically and mentally. This week, I set intentions to honor my hunger cues and cravings, and already I feel a change in my mood, digestion, and energy levels.

IMG_1171.JPGHealthy living bloggers talk a lot about food freedom, and although it’s a wonderful thing, I am still struggling to fully embrace it. I want that freedom from the scale, from worrying about calories, from judging my body. It’s just hard to let go. I’ve noticed that the negative body talk is especially pronounced when I’m too focused on me, too introspective. I really love the quote,”don’t think less of yourself but think of yourself less.” Distraction from ourselves and our thoughts can be a saving grace.

IMG_1175.JPGWorkouts…I’m training for a June trail half marathon. I ran this race last year. It. was. a. beast. I’m not sure how well I’ll do, but I have a few friends running it with me, and training with me, which makes all the difference. They make it 400x more fun to run 13.1 rocky miles in the humid PA heat.

IMG_1160Garden…nonexistent right now. Lame, I know. I’ll add it to my list of “things I need to do but will probably procrastinate doing until the last minute.” Any ideas about what I should plant this year?

Reading…I just finished Strangers in Their Own Land and Silent Spring. Both were super. I currently am reading Grain Brain. Have you heard of it? Honestly, I’m pretty skeptical. We’ll see how I feel about it after I finish reading.

Hope you all have a super weekend. You should tell me about your plans because I’m noisy and like to know these things. I’ll be working and finishing up some school assignments, and on Saturday, my uber talented friend is coming over to do a test run of my makeup for prom. The makeup aisle gives me anxiety, and the extent of my “face” routine (<= is that what it’s even called?) in the morning is coconut oil and mascara, so I will need all the help I can get.


So tell me…

Life update for food, workouts, and one other thing, your choice.

Did you plant a garden this year?

Are you a makeup pro? 

7 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Glad to see you! Though with the stress of all the stuff that comes at the end of an academic year, I think you are 200% right in taking the time away. The emotions will come later, don’t you worry… it’s okay right now to focus on/distract yourself with the more tangible stressors. I’m wishing you all the luck on your exams and projects. And with makeup. Lord knows I’m with you on that one.

    I’m so, so jealous you are spending time on a farm. I will also be very interested to hear what you think about “Grain Brain.” I’ve stayed far away from that book. Lastly, thank you for that quote about thinking about ourselves less. That one hit me nicely this morning and I think I will be thinking on it a bit more. Keep pushing yourself with those goals ❤

    Like

  2. Hi Vangie..firstly, you are an amazing,dear, niece to me! Well ,working at a high school you are just with so many others! Its finals time!😣 You will do great and then the awww rest!👍😊 Garden..well its flowers and I’ll send some pics! Maybe a few Moon flowers.😊 Have a fun Prom night too! 💃I love you lots- Aunt E.👏💞👍

    Like

  3. Glad to hear you’re doing well–good luck and finish strong with those finals! I’ve been loving lots of green smoothies, toast with vegan cream cheese, and oats with peanut butter. Life update? Getting everything ready for baby girl’s arrival!

    Like

  4. This year was kind of a non garden year. After pushing myself a lot for the past 5-6 years, this year is kind of a year of stepping back and simplifying. I’m trying to remember to water the trees and fruit bushes. I’m thankful that we water, but the Lord truly brings the increase.

    Also, my friends who are in school are a good example to me of not worrying about not posting on your blog for a while. You are good at focusing on what you need to focus on, and getting on here when you have time! It’s really wonderful to hear from you ‘Vangie.

    I know what you mean by food freedom. I still feel like I’m on a Long… long road back to that; it’s so hard some days but I’m thankful that Jesus sets us free and is setting us free!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

