6 Tips to Make Running in the Heat Suck Less

Hello, you. How goes it?

As I mentioned earlier this week, I have a trail race coming up in June, which I’m unprepared for, but sometimes life just works like that. I’m trying not to worry too much about it.

So maybe I’m unprepared, but I am doing my best to get as un-unprepared as possible before race day comes. I’m not looking to PR, but avoiding a heart attack on the trail would be nice. I upped my mileage a little and have been focusing on hip mobility and lower body strength training circuits.

The kicker has been the weather. After weeks of chilly weather, PA was hit with some toasty, 90 degree days. The warmer weather has felt good, but running in the heat can be frustrating. Plus, I have fair skin, which means that almost any physical exertion in temperatures above 75°F makes me look like I’m about to pass out. Passing drivers always seem a little concerned for my health during the summer months.

It’s okay though. Running isn’t supposed to look pretty.

Summer running isn’t the most comfortable activity, but hopefully these tips will make it a bit more bearable.

Hydrate.

Okay, so this isn’t anything revolutionary, but it’s a good reminder. We sweat more in the summer, so we need to compensate with extra liquids. Try to drink water a few hours before your run so you don’t end up with a sloshy belly.

resusablebottle.png

Ease into it.

Your runs will be slower. That’s okay. Don’t beat yourself up. Your body has to work harder to cool down when you run in the heat. Give yourself a few weeks to adjust.

Wear the right clothes.

Running tanks and shorts that are made from breathable, wicking material usually feel the best.

20160718_122404

Refuel with cold things.

Cold smoothies are refreshing after a hot run. Two awesome recipes can be found here and here. One is a super tasty chocolate smoothie from the lovely Kat, and the other is a classic green smoothie from Minimalist Baker. Also, they’re nutritious to boot. Frozen grapes or bananas, really any fruit, are good too.

img_0969

Run early or late in the day.

If you can, try to sneak in a morning run before it gets too hot or in the evening when the sun is less intense. I struggle with motivation in the morning (PJs are so cozy), but Beth, one of my running buddies, owns the art of the morning run. She’s such an inspiration. I actually get to do a training run with her this weekend, which I’m super pumped about.

Take a cold shower.

Post-run, after you’ve stretched a little, try taking a cool shower. Cold showers also can reduce soreness and prevent breakouts (This article explains the benefits in depth).

Hope these help! Happy weekending.


So tell me…

Do you like running in the heat or in the cold?

What are some other summer running tips I should know?

Do you even like running? (I have a love/hate relationship with running, so no judgement here.)

What’s your favorite way to move?

9 thoughts on “6 Tips to Make Running in the Heat Suck Less

  1. I like running…. But I don’t love running in the heat; in the summer time I make every effort I can to find a way to run when it’s cool/cold. That usually means later evening runs or early morning runs.

    And easing into it is so essential. If I run too fast or do too much right away, it makes it so miserable.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing. I am a keen (slow) jogger and much prefer jogging in Spring and Autumn. I have a poetry blog here on WordPress and today’s poem is about a hard going jog in the heat in case you have time to look? Have a good afternoon, Sam 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

