Banana Nut Scones (Vegan+GF)

Hello, friends.

My kitchen has been collecting cobwebs for the past few weeks, but now with finals finished and graduation on the horizon, I’ve had more time to spend baking and making food that isn’t oatmeal or omelets or hummus sandwiches. I feel like that’s all I eat when I’m busy.

IMG_1227This recipe mainly uses garbanzo bean flour and a little oat flour. Don’t be scared by bean flour. It’s actually really awesome! It’s high in protein and fiber, and I promise that your scones won’t taste like beans.

IMG_1231The recipe is free of refined sugar. All the sweetness comes from the banana, and it’s also gluten free, for all my celiac and gluten intolerant people. I swear all my non-savory recipes include mashed banana. If I ever post a sweet, carby recipe that doesn’t feature bananas, something will be wildly amiss.

IMG_1233The scones have a nice crumbly, soft texture, but they’re durable enough to withstand a hefty smear of butter or PB. The healthy fat from the coconut oil and walnuts is super satiating too.

IMG_1239Banana Nut Scones

Servings: 8             Time: 35 minutes             Level: Intermediate

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup oat flour

1 1/2 cup garbanzo bean flour

2 T coconut flour

1 T baking powder

1 cup chopped walnuts

Wet Ingredients:

2 mashed bananas

1/4 almond milk (or any other non-dairy milk)

1/3 cup solid coconut oil

1 flax egg*

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425°F.
  2. In a medium bowl, mash the bananas and mix in the milk and flax egg.
  3. In another bowl, combine the all the dry ingredients and mix well. Add the solid coconut oil to the flour. You can use a fork to incorporate the coconut oil, but I think it’s easier to just use your hand to mix it in. The mixture should look crumbly.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly. At first, it will seem like the dough is too dry, but keep mixing.
  5. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Shape the dough on the cookie sheet into a circle that’s about 2 inches high and 8 inches in diameter. The exact dimensions are really important though. Just eyeball it. Cut the circle into 8 triangles and separate them. If the dough is sticky, use a spatula to shape them. Top with raw oats or extra chopped nuts.
  6. Bake the scones for 20-22 minutes. They should be golden brown. Cool and enjoy!

*For the flax egg, mix 2 T flaxseed with 3 T water. Let it sit for 5 minutes to thicken.

Let me know if you get the chance to try these!


So tell me…

What’s your favorite topping for scones? (I’m an almond butter fan.)

What other recipes would you like to see on the blog?

 

14 thoughts on “Banana Nut Scones (Vegan+GF)

  1. Yum! I think scones are one of my favorite sweets in general! Love chocolate chip ones best dunked in coffee or almond milk!

    Like

  2. Maybe odd but I’ve actually never had a scone before. They’re just not typical around here but yours look really nice and hearty [in the best way].
    While I don’t like bananas as is, they’re a great addition/sweetener in (vegan) baked goods or oats.

    Like

    1. I hadn’t eaten my first scone until just recently. I actually didn’t think I’d like them because they look dry, but I was pleasantly surprised. Bananas do a phenomenal job of sweetening and making things yummier.

      Like

Leave a Reply

