Day in the Life {What I Ate Wednesday}

For my American friends, how was your Independence Day? My day drifted, lazy and slow. I ran in the morning with my dad, napped shortly after, and then worked in the evening. Not having the whole family together felt different, but a quiet holiday is still a holiday. WIAW+tag7:00 am – My alarm clock beeped, but I was already awake. Usually, my alarm isn’t set on days when I don’t have to be at work in the morning, but for some reason it was. I got dressed, washed my face, and went down stairs to drink water.

7:30 am – Dad said he was going for a short run, so I joined him. We ran a little over 2 miles and smashed a tough hill.

IMG_1468.JPG8:00 am – Breakfast! I made vegan pancakes and topped them with almond butter and patriotic fruit. I read a little more of The Boiling Season while I ate. I also made a list of things I wanted to accomplish for the day.

8:30 am – Cleaned up breakfast, brushed my teeth, and sat down to catch up on blog reading and commenting. These were some of my favorites.

Protect Your Own, and Eat Your Heart Out, My Girl via The Mom Gene

Doubt: Learning to Live Without Fear via Beauty in Christ

TOL: On Discipline and Self Care via You’ve got Kayl

10:00 – 11:30 am – I finished a strength training workout while listening to the Stuff You Should Know podcast, one about the Philadelphia Experiments conspiracy and one about ocean currents. Don’t judge. You should tell me all about your favorite podcasts in the comments, so we can be nerdy together. Recommendations are welcome too.

IMG_1476.JPG
spinach with a quinoa burger and other salad toppings.

12:00 pm – Lunch! Dad was home, so we ate together and watched Criminal Minds.

1:00 pm – I cleaned my bathroom, organized my room, and started typing this post.

2:00 pm – Do you ever end up with multiple bunches of spotty bananas? What’s your favorite way to use them? This time, I made vegan banana bread.IMG_1477.JPG3:00 pm – Ate said banana bread for a quick snack before work and several bowls of berries. It turned out slightly under baked, on the verge (but not quite) of mush. Impatience is a cruel master, friends. I also drafted a few other posts for next week, read, and worked on a list of things I will need to buy for my dorm room.

4:30 pm – Left for work. This shift was 5 – 8, which is more than manageable. The only bummer was waiting to eat dinner until around 8:30.

5:00 – 8:00 pm – Work.

IMG_1482.JPG
tater with broccoli and seitan.

8:30 pm – Home and dinner. My brother stopped by, and we caught up for a little while.

IMG_1483.JPG
this x2

9:00 – 10:00 pm – I donned my jammies and grabbed a quick snack, vegan carrot “cake” with cashew frosting. It turned out more like fancy quick bread. I think I’ve become too experimental with recent bakes. Time to go back inside the box, not the literal dessert box (boxed bakes are eww), the metaphorical one. Mom and dad started a movie. I watched some of it, but after a while, I went upstairs to get ready for bed.

10:00 – 10:30 pm – Read a little more and called it quits.

Linking up with Laura and Arman for What I Ate Wednesday. 


So tell me…

Give me a peek into your day.

10 thoughts on “Day in the Life {What I Ate Wednesday}

  1. What a good holiday/summer day. You are mighty productive on a home-day. When I have most of a day at home I end up fleeting around spending the entire time figuring out WHAT I should do, and usually not getting to any of it. Its something I reaalllllly want to figure out. The fact you baked – times 2 – made lists, read, started blog posts, and organized? You’re like the Tasmanian devil!
    A peak into my day? I’ve been working a tonne since being back. Cleaning and cooking are taking definite backseats.

    Like

    1. To be fair, currently every day is a home for me, so if I don’t keep myself busy, I end up with my butt continuously glued to our couch. Some times that happens anyway though. I like my couch.

      Woohoo! Workin’ woman. Hope it’s mostly the energizing, invigorating kind of work and not too much of the exhausting, draining kind.

      Like

  2. That’s so cool that you and your dad do some runs together. That sounds really fun.
    And podcasts: I love em. I’ve liked some of the episodes from Chasing Joy Podcast, one called ‘Sheologians,’ another one called ‘The Reformed Pubcast,’ ‘Ask Pastor John’, and if you’re interested in some blogging advice, I like ‘Blissful Eats Podcast’ (Nicole Culver). 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m with Emily–I think it’s really awesome that you do runs with your dad.
    Sorry about your banana bread turning out mushy. That’s no fun. Baking experimentation *definitely* takes patience.
    Glad to hear you had a relaxing Fourth! Glad you got to spend a little time with your dad and brother, even if the whole family wasn’t together. 🙂

    Like

    1. The unsuccessful attempts DO force me to be creative with the weird stuff I end up though. Like with the mushy bread, I crumbled and baked it to make cereal, which actually turned out really well. Win 🙂

      Like

  4. AAAHHH I can’t believe you shared my post. I feel so honored!!! ☺️
    That lunch bowl with the quinoa burger and all the fix ins looks gosh darn delish. Also, Criminal Minds is so good but I can’t watch it a) alone and b) at night. 🙀 What are your other favorite podcasts? Still trying to expand my podcast repertoire

    Like

    1. I usually make my dad watch it with me. Mom isn’t a fan. My favorite podcasts of late have been Stuff You Should Know (the two guys who run them are hilarious and super down to earth), Revisionist History, Psychology of Eating, and although I haven’t listened to it yet, I’ve heard the Chasing Joy podcast is awesome too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

