Why I don’t blog about my workouts.

This has been on my mind for a while, and when something weighs on our minds, it’s generally a good idea to give it some air time. When we don’t, it festers and circulates, and with the amount of everyday things already festering and circulating, tacking on another leaves us feeling less breezy and carefree and more sluggish and weighed down.Thinking-Out-LoudYou may have noticed that I don’t post “Weekly Workout” recaps or share my weekly mileage on the blog or on social media. That’s intentional.

You don’t need to know my workout plan.

And I don’t need to know your workout plan. It worries me when people with huge followings, who have thousands, some times millions of devoted followers, routinely pump their feeds and posts with every detail of their workouts. Followers invest in them and take their word as gospel. They wield a hefty influence, and some times that influence can be damaging, especially when they live lifestyles that superficially appear healthy and balanced but in reality won’t be sustainable for the long run.

Workout advice from personal trainers or fitness instructors can be beneficial for beginners looking for direction as they dip their toe into workouts and healthy living. We also should encourage people to exercise, move, and get their heart pumping, and along those lines, celebrating race finishes, dead lift PRs, and new fitness classes is awesome. I love that. Engaging in a community that celebrates wellness, at every level, is an inspiration. I especially appreciate bloggers who take time to create and share free workouts or training schedules for races. Heck, if people had never started experimenting with workouts and sharing their experiments, how would we have new workouts like HIIT and Crossfit? We’d still be in leotards and tights, power walking with a tiny dumbbell in each hand.

But sharing exactly how we move, how long, how many calories we burn, how many workouts and rest days we take, all the nitty gritties, people really don’t need to know those. They don’t. It opens the door for comparison, and at the core, it’s pretty narcissistic.

I’m not advocating some sort of gag rule for exercise vernacular. That’s silly. Exercise is healthy. It can be a blast or a beast. In both cases, some times we just want everyone to know. But we don’t need to share with the entire world, every detail of our workouts, every day.

Exercise is a very personal activity. The motivation for movement is different for each person, and the result of the movement is different for each person. Two people could undertake two identical training plans, and even following identical diets, end up with completely different results.imagesApproaching the topic with…not quite caution but a carefulness, can make all the difference. I don’t share my workout plan because it is my own. It works for me, and what works for me may or may not work for you. I do blog about running because it has played a huge role in my wellness journey and recovery from my eating disorder, but I try to shy away from specific numbers when writing about training.  Ultimately, it’s best when we individually discern ways to move that best fit our interests, current abilities, and the life we each have to work around.

Many thanks to Amanda for letting me think out loud. 


So tell me…

How do you feel about weekly workout recaps? If you share those on your blog or social media pages, please don’t feel like I’m talking specifically to you. I’m just sharing my thoughts 🙂

Disagree? Agree? Thoughts?

 

15 thoughts on “Why I don’t blog about my workouts.

  1. I agree with what you said about sharing very specific details, because for some reason it makes people sometimes feel like they have to do the same thing and that it will work for them. Exercise is such an individual thing, because God made us all so different! I love that you wrote this Evangeline with such grace and truth.
    I don’t usually blog about my workouts, but I do talk about my love for running. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love this! It’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately, both with exercise and food. I think it’s important that anyone with any sort of platform (in this case bloggers) has to be mindful about what they share and think about how it will influence people. I try to make sure that even if I share a general “oh hey I worked out this morning”, I include something about listening to your own body and also share that sometimes, I sleep in instead of working out and that’s healthy too. Thanks for writing this!

    Like

    1. Yes! I think it’s totally okay to share that we work out. After all, movement is definitely healthy and needed, but including some realness (some times we need to sleep in or do yoga instead of a hard workout) seems wise. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  3. Eh, I’ll read about where people run, how far they run or whatever. I’ve got my own training and my own plan so that’s good enough for me. I also don’t read too many lifestyle blogs anymore. My preferences have changed and they bore me a bit. My favorite blogs to read are race recaps (trails please) and stuff about getting outside. I do lust over the beautiful trails and pictures my friends post, but that is more “I wish I was out there” than trying to “beat” them or whatever.

    Like

    1. That makes sense. I like reading race recaps too. They usually leave me feeling inspired, not upset or insecure about my own running. Also, it seems like reflecting on how races went can be really beneficial for sorting through the “after” emotions and strategizing future races.

      Like

  4. I’m 100% with you on this one, Evangeline. I love moving my body, and I especially love group fitness classes. I love that community of having fun, pushing ourselves to get stronger, and celebrating what our bodies can do together. But I don’t really want to know how often other people are working out, how much weight they lifted, how many miles, how many calories, etc. Frankly, it’s still kind of triggering for me in my eating disorder as I still get comfortable with having fewer workouts than I used to. I love it when I see photos from the ends of your races or even if you just share that you had a great time on your run. As someone who doesn’t much care for running, I think it’s awesome that you do that! But I don’t want to know every detail of your or any other blogger’s exercise routine–to keep track of it in such a detailed and obsessive seems even maybe a little bit disordered in and of itself.

    Like

  5. Yes!! I never could nail down the reason (till now), but I’ve always felt icky when reading super detailed workout recaps. Truthfully, they make me feel guilty, like my measly 2 workouts a week + walking isn’t enough. Or that their combination of HIIT and strength is gospel.
    I’m with you – I think sharing workouts and ideas is awesome, but sometimes too many details – especially if portrayed as the “right way” – can be too much.

    Like

    1. There is definitely a guilt inducing aspect of sharing detailed workouts, especially so if they’re marketed as the “only” way to be fit. Which is silly in itself because workouts should be about a healthier body and mind, not pursuit of chiseled abs or a perfectly round tush. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Catherine.

      Like

  6. Oh.my.gosh. 1000 times YES! This is something that has been on my mind for a long time– i don’t blog or instagram or even hardly talk about my own workouts either. Because when I had an unhealthy relationship with food and working out, seeing what other people did only hurt my progress to finding balance. Rather, I emphasize that just because one person is waking up at 5am to workout or training for a marathon- this does not mean you should! We are all at such different places- physically but also MENTALLY. Sometimes the best thing someone can do for themselves is to take it easy. The comparison game is not good in anything wellness related, but certainly exercise.

    Like

    1. “Just because one person is waking up at 5am to workout or training for a marathon- this does not mean you should!” Exactly. But that’s kind of how it feels when those posts are plastered everywhere. And absolutely, the comparison game is a joy sucker. I’m just slowly starting to learn this and also put into practice methods to combat feeling guilty when I do see someone post about how challenging their workout felt or how many miles they ran. It’s a long process 🙂

      Like

  7. I totally agree! Exercise is suuuuch a personal thing that varies not just person to person but day to day for each person. Not going to say that they need to cut it out altogether but bloggers definitely need to be more aware of how their posts can affect others. I’ve also made it a point to only follow blogs that I know will be good for my mental wellbeing and steer clear of those posts that I know can potentially be triggering for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

