Lessons from a mug + Life updates

Hello friendly faces. I feel like I’ve been away from the blog for weeks. What’s new with you all? In case you missed it, two weeks ago, I made a move from PA to MA for college. Officially, a college student now. Whaaat?20170831_192124Slowly and slowly I’m settling into this new environment and role as a semi-independent college student. Classes started last Thursday, and it feels marvelous to be back in the classroom. Learning new material feels marvelous, anyway. Realizing how much work will be ahead is both humbling and daunting.20170901_172248Thursday I went to a class that was over my head, and I left feeling defeated. I let that hour and a half of discomfort dictate my entire day, which in retrospect was a total fail. During orientation, I had felt at peace, even with all the change, not comfortable, but content. Walking out of that class, it felt like all the peace bought a one way ticket to somewherefaraway and left me wallowing in a puddle of self pity. 20170901_102451After returning to reality and recognizing, “Yes, in fact there will be challenging classes in college. And yes, it’s actually okay to drop a class if I need to.” that sense of peace returned. Those moments of panic are usually a sign that I’ve misplaced my trust. Once I return it to its rightful Owner, homeostasis is restored. And that’s a pretty important thing.20170901_154045On a lighter note, Boston is a beaut. Perhaps more importantly, my campus is a beaut. Even nestled in the heart of the city, I see trees from my dorm room window and have access to a park that’s just a short walk away.

20170908_142133
roomies ❤

My roommates are terrific and kind and considerate. The weather has been mostly lovely. I met a city rabbit that was bewilderingly friendly but reminded me of home. Pedestrian safety 101 has been firmly ensconced in my rural mind, and I’ve been sleeping deeply and waking energized. I can’t complain. 20170901_190150The city has so much to offer, which is overwhelming at times, but I’m taking it step by step, one day at a time. It’s the only way to do it. Worrying about the next four days, next two months, next five years won’t be productive. I know, quite the shocker. 20170904_074019I’ll leave you with this sunny reminder from my mug. It knows more about living life than I do.

“Be happy.”

“Fill yourself with good things. Then feed others.”

“Stay warm, internally and externally.”

Happy Monday, friends.


So tell me…

What’s new with you?

Something you did last week.

 

16 thoughts on “Lessons from a mug + Life updates

  1. Thankful you’ve been blessed with such amazing roommates! 🙂 I’m glad to see how you talked to yourself and Christ who is our peace keeps overwhelming your heart with His peace. It is totally okay to not understand everything; I think it just reminds us to keep trusting in God and wondering at all the things we have to learn. 🙂

    Like

  2. As someone who is off to leave college in just a bit to someone who just entered, embrace the challenges and the uncomfortable. A lot easier said than done but that’s what these years are about! Making and admitting mistakes, feeling outside our comfort zones, realizing you’ll never have it all figured out. Not to say you won’t continue to be challenged and learn and grow after that; but more college is when we have to accept that the uncomfortable is life. Hope that helps. And as you said, there’s a bigger power at play. Also love that life advice from the mug. Words to live by.

    I am so pumped for you to continue to explore this new area and chapter. From what I’ve seen and heard, Boston is pretty awesome. It’s definitely on my to-visit list so I’ll be needing your recommendations in the future! 😉 Sending good vibes and peacefulness your way.

    Like

    1. I guess it’s reassuring to know that this part of life is supposed to filled with challenges and growth. I keep telling myself that everyone is experiencing similar trials and questions. But since we’re all different, we deal with them in different contexts and with different responses.

      Once I get to know the city better, I’ll be your go to gal for recommendations. At this point, I could point you in the direction of Target, and that’s about it 🙂

      Like

  3. Well I definitely can’t say anything any better than what you’ve already told yourself. You’ve got an amazing mindset. You recognize the discomfort and accept it… which is something not a lot of people do. The discomfort is inevitable, but as you so beautiful express here, it is our own inner choices to trust and let go that create happiness. You really impress me lady. There is going to be lots of learning and changing in this next while. I hope you continue to see the excitement within it all. This makes me want to relive going back to school all over again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m glad you have amazing roomies! I never did the college dorm life but I can imagine that having good roomates is really important!
    There is going to be a lot of life lessons coming your way this next year. Don’t be afraid to take everything on head on – be open, honest and committed to yourself and you are going to have a great time!

    Like

  5. Daunting and humbling is a good way to describe it! Thanks for the reminder not to worry about the future, near or far. I’ve been finding myself thinking of college as a transition time before the “next thing” and I’ve realized that’s not a good way to view it. I need to unpack my bags, settle down, and be present.
    Your campus looks beautiful and I’m so glad you have such lovely roommates. And I love the lessons from your mug. It’s a keeper.
    Hope this time for you is as peaceful as it is exciting. ❤

    Like

  6. Like Cora noted above – you really, truly impress me. I admire your outlook on the world and your kind, thoughtful nature. I hope you keep doing what you’re doing and keep us all updated on all the adventures. I wish you all the best on this fantastic new journey ❤

    Like

  7. I remember the first day of every college class being so overwhelming because you get the entire syllabus with all assignments, due dates, tests, mid terms, projects. It can be very overwhelming. But attend class, get in a routine, and I promise you’ll be great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

