9 Books for the Eclectic Bibliophile.

I like books. They can be an innocuous escape from the real world or a jarring reminder of what the real world really looks like.

They help us empathize with situations we’re unfamiliar with. Reading about things, people, histories, environments, circumstances we haven’t experienced firsthand can give us the opportunity to spend a few days in someone else’s shoes.

Variety is what I look for most in my reading choices. Research-based writing is interesting, but after a few hundred pages of experimental studies and statistical evidence, I’m ready for a change. The same is true for science fiction, mystery, autobiographies, drama. I need a balance.

Maybe you’ve solely dedicated your reading love to books of a certain genre, and that’s cool too. Hopefully something here sparks your interest.

Sold by Patricia McCormickSold_(novel)

11/22/1963 by Stephen King11-22-63

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Brysonwalkinthewoods

Silent Spring by Rachel CarsonSilentSpring50_300.png

Blink by Malcolm Gladwellblink

The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy TanBonesettersdaughterbookcover

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawsonfuriously-happy.jpg

Straight Man by Richard Russo220px-StraightMan

The Hour I First Believed by Wally LambhourIfirstbelieved.jpg

Happy reading! Let me know what you’re reading right now, in the comments. I’m always looking for recommendations.


So tell me…

Anything here look intriguing?

What are you currently reading? 

 

10 thoughts on “9 Books for the Eclectic Bibliophile.

  1. “The Hour I First Believed” sounds fascinating. I read “A Mother’s Reckoning” by Sue Klebold (the mother of one of the two shooters at Columbine HS) about half a year ago and enjoyed it. So Wally Lamb’s novel looks intriguing.

    My favourite genre is YA low-fantasy mysterious paranormal horror (I hate using the word horror, because I don’t mean gore – but rather, eeriness). Romance is sometimes acceptable, IMO, but I love the notion of the afterlife and friendships that develop. My favourite in this genre was “When They Fade” by Jeyn Roberts, and recently I read “Shallow Graves” by Kali Wallace. “Shallow Graves” was not my favourite; the fantasy was a bit too much and sometimes the language confused me. Oily shadow? The shape of a name? A bit too poetic for my taste 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t been reading a lot lately; I started to read the Count of Monte Cristo a few weeks ago. I need to re-download it and keep reading. It’s such a good story! And I would love to get more variety in what I read too; you’ve inspired me.

    Like

  3. Ooh, so many interesting reads! Unfortunately the last couple of years, I’ve fallen into the trap of not reading much for fun during the school year and catching up over the summer, but I want to make time to read more non-school related things this school year. Bookmarking!

    Like

  4. Jenny Lawson’s book has been on my to-read list for ages! Blink looks pretty good and I’ve read another Amy Tan book previously (Joy Luck Club) so The Bonesetter’s Daughter intrigues me.

    I just finished a book yesterday so I’m in between books right now. Always tough for me to decide what to read next. Urgh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

